Phonetic transcription

Hello readers!

Since the last post about beginning to gain recordings for my project, I’ve acquired about 75 recordings for my project, which is awesome!

The recording process was done over about 2-and-a-half weeks, and since gaining enough recordings, I have begun with the ‘audio-amalgamation’ and ‘phonetic transcription’ processes.

I spent about 1 week, splicing the audio recordings from all 75 people, into a more coherent body of work. At the end of this process, I finished with 5 x 5 minute-long tracks to present at my Honours assessment. Each 5 minute tracks, had excerpts from each person’s recordings, that once compiled together, formed a complete reading of the “Oh, the place’s you’ll go” poem (written by Dr. Seuss).

The categories I compiled the audio files into these groups as follows:

‘Northern Launceston Suburbs’
‘Eastern Launceston Suburbs’
‘Western Launceston Suburbs’
‘Southern Launceston Suburbs’
and
‘Launceston Central Business District and Broader Tasmania’

These 5 categories will be displayed on separate monitors in the installation work.

What I have been doing now, is beginning the long and arduous task of phonetically transcribing what each participant says in their recordings, into the phonetic symbols.

This process is taking a lot longer then what I had originally envisioned, but I am confident that it will be completed in time, to the best standard that I can possible accomplish.

The reason there has been a lack of blog posts lately, is because this process has been taking up all of my time.

Speaking of which, I have to get back to it – but here is a short time-lapse video of the time that it takes, just to do one person’s phonetic transcription.

I’ve sped up the video considerably, so that you’re not watching me look at a computer screen for 12 minutes haha.

Phonetic Transcription Time-Lapse

Hope you enjoy!

Until next time….

TattleTaleTony – still with you all, but signing out for not! ^-^

Leave a Reply

